Johns Hopkins UniversityThe Sheridan Libraries



Photo of a librarian helping students with research.
Staff DirectoryPersons With DisabilitiesContact UsSite MapHours

HomeLibrary ServicesOnline ResourcesCatalogsResearch HelpCollections

Ask a Librarian
How Do I...
Forms
My Account
About Us
Info For . . .
Giving
Search
LIBRARY BLOG

Spotlight

Presidential Campaign Music and Memorabilia

From George Washington to George W. Bush, presidential candidates have captured America’s attention with music and memorabilia. Campaign music and souvenirs from some of the country’s most memorable elections are on display in the MSE Library.  More...

They Like Ike Sheet Music Cover

Archives 


  


Home > Research Help > Writing Seminars > Databases and Indexes


Databases and Indexes for Writing Seminars


The following is a very selective list of databases for use by Writing Seminars students and faculty. These resources will lead you to articles in journals and magazines (many of them in full text), chapters in books, dissertations, full text of primary works, and other materials. If you do not find what you need here, contact Sue Waterman, the librarian for Writing Seminars, for assistance.
(click on the informationfor more information about the databases)
General Multidisciplinary
This link opens a new window - Info About Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier  (All US JHU)

Full-text access to nearly 4,000 academic journals and popular magazines in all fields.

This link opens a new window - Info About American Film Scripts Online American Film Scripts Online  (All US JHU)

Ongoing full-text project which currently contains over 120 scripts of feature films.  When complete, it will hold 1,000 scripts.

This link opens a new window - Info About Humanities International Index Humanities International Index  (All US JHU)

Index of scholarly and creative English language literary journals (mainly American and Canadian).

This link opens a new window - Info About Communication & Mass Media Complete Communication & Mass Media Complete  (All US JHU)

Bibliographic and full-text resource for research in Communication and Mass Media.

This link opens a new window - Info About General science full text (also part of OmniFile full text mega) General science full text (also part of OmniFile full text mega)  (All US JHU)

Indexes popular Science magazines and professional journals plus the New York Times Science Section.

This link opens a new window - Info About Readers' Guide Full Text (also part of OmniFile Full Text Mega) Readers' Guide Full Text (also part of OmniFile Full Text Mega)  (All US JHU)

Indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals.

Newspapers
This link opens a new window - Info About Baltimore Sun (1990- ) Baltimore Sun (1990- )  (All US JHU)

Full text of the Daily newspaper from Baltimore, Maryland.

This link opens a new window - Info About Ethnic NewsWatch Ethnic NewsWatch  (All US JHU)

An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage begins in 1990.

This link opens a new window - Info About LexisNexis Academic  <b>New Interface</b> LexisNexis Academic New Interface  (All US JHU)

Useful for full-text film, book, and play reviews.  Includes many U.S. and international newspapers.  No  images.

This link opens a new window - Info About ProQuest Newspapers (Historical) ProQuest Newspapers (Historical)  (All US JHU)

Page-image database of newspapers including the New York Times (1851-2001), Washington Post (1877-1988) and more.

This link opens a new window - Info About Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-1985 Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-1985  (All US JHU)

Times (London) Archives from 1785 - 1985. 

 For more newspapers, see Newspapers Databases

Reference
This link opens a new window - Info About American Factfinder American Factfinder  (All JHU (incl. International))

Provides useful statistics and facts about communities, the economy, and society; information is from the U.S. Census Bureau.

This link opens a new window - Info About Books in print. (Global edition) Books in print. (Global edition)  (All JHU (incl. International))

Lists in-print and out-of-print materials (including books, audio, DVDs, etc.), and reviews from several publications.

This link opens a new window - Info About Community of Science. Community of Science.  (All US JHU)

Database that gathers information together about funding, scientists throughout the world and their research areas, and more.

This link opens a new window - Info About Britannica Online Britannica Online  (All US JHU)

Electronic version of this scholarly work.

This link opens a new window - Info About Oxford English Dictionary. Oxford English Dictionary.  (All US JHU)

Web-version of the OED (includes entries from the 2nd edition plus the new edition in process).

This link opens a new window - Info About Statistical Abstract of the United States Statistical Abstract of the United States  (Free)

Basic source to use for a wide variety of statistics.

This link opens a new window - Info About Webster's 3rd new international dictionary Webster's 3rd new international dictionary  (All US JHU)

Electronic version of this classic dictionary.


For copies of poems, plays, novels, etc., see Guide to Primary Works for Writing Seminars

Other Databases by Subject including:

Book Reviews
Dictionaries
Directories
English and American Literature
Film & Media Studies
History
Psychology

Reference


Return to Writing Seminars Research Guide



STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS

Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2008 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy