Johns Hopkins UniversityThe Sheridan Libraries



Photo of a librarian helping students with research.
Staff DirectoryPersons With DisabilitiesContact UsSite MapHours

HomeLibrary ServicesOnline ResourcesCatalogsResearch HelpCollections

Ask a Librarian
How Do I...
Forms
My Account
About Us
Info For . . .
Giving
Search
NEWS & EVENTS
LIBRARY BLOG

Spotlight

Special Collections Materials on Display

Each year the Friends of the Johns Hopkins Libraries generously designate 20 percent of member contributions to fund the purchase of special collections materials.  This year, 12 items were purchased, and selected titles are now on display in the central corridor on M-Level.  More...

 Archives 

  


Home > Research Help > Spanish > Databases in Spanish Studies


Databases and Indexes in Spanish Studies:
Finding Articles

ONLINE INDEXES TO ARTICLES:

The following are available to the Hopkins community: on campus, or via Proxy access, or the VPN network.

This link opens a new window - Info About MLA International Bibliography MLA International Bibliography  (All JHU (incl. International))

(1963-present). The best overall database for literary studies. Provides access to scholarly research in over 4,000 journals and series.

This link opens a new window - Info About Bibliografia de la literatura espanola desde 1980 Bibliografia de la literatura espanola desde 1980   (All US JHU)

(1980-present) La más completa y única bibliografía sobre la Literatura Española actual. Pone a su disposición referencias bibliográficas de obras, ediciones, traducciones de originales y estudios sobre los mismos, aparecidos a partir de 1980 en libros o en publicaciones periódicas, homenajes, actas de congresos, misceláneas, etc.; editadas en España o en el extranjero.

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index

(1970-present) Contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Many of the citations are linked to full text.

Handbook of Latin American Studies

The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbookalternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

This link opens a new window - Info About Humanities Full Text (also part of OmniFile full text mega) Humanities Full Text (also part of OmniFile full text mega)  (All US JHU)

(1904-present) Indexes over 1600 of the major journals in the humanities and its disciplines. With full text coverage from 200 publications.

LAPTOC: Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents

A searchable Web database that provides access to the tables of contents of more than 800 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America.

This link opens a new window - Info About Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science  (All US JHU)

(1975-present) Citation index to over 1,144 arts and humanities journals. Provides information on articles and all bibliographic references cited in them.

This link opens a new window - Info About Periodicals Index Online Periodicals Index Online  (All US JHU)

Indexes millions of articles in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770. Includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish and other Western languages.

This link opens a new window - Info About Project  MUSE Project MUSE  (All JHU (incl. International))

Searches the online journals of the JHU Press. Fulltext of articles now includes other presses as well; including Oxford University, Carnegie Mellon, MIT Press, Duke University.

This link opens a new window - Info About Iter Italicum Iter Italicum  (All US JHU)

Covers all literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

This link opens a new window - Info About Essay and General Literature Index Essay and General Literature Index  (All US JHU)

Cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and other works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Focus on
humanities and social sciences.

This link opens a new window - Info About International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)  (All US JHU)

A comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.

PRINT INDEXES TO ARTICLES 

While online databases are wonderful for finding more recent articles, most older material, and much of the specialized material from European journals, will be only indexed in print indexes. Be sure to check them as well, as needed.

Bibliografía de la literature hispánica. J. Simón Diaz
The indispensable bibliography for Spanish literature. Still a work in progress (it has reached Francisco Pacheco in the alphabet), but at 16 volumes to date it is an essential resource for general literature, the Middle Ages, and Golden Age. Includes Castilian, Catalan, Galician, Basque, and Spanish American (up to independence) literatures. Volume 1 covers literary history, Volume 2 bibliographies and catalogs, Volume 3 the Middle Ages, and Volumes 4-16 Golden Age.
General Reference:                 Z 2691 .S5

Manual de bibliografía de la literatura española
. J. Simon Diaz.
Treats Fuentes generales, Edad media, Siglos de Oro, Siglo XVIII, Siglo XIX, and Siglo XX. Alphabetical by author; lists works written and then works about. Includes subject index.
General Reference:                 Z 2691 .S54 1980
D Level:
                          PJ 1006.5 .S62 1963 and 1980 editions

Manual de literatura española. Felipe Pedraza-Jiménez.
1. Edad Media -- 2. Renacimiento -- 3-4. Barroco (2 v.) -- 5. Siglo XVIII -- 6. Epoca romántica -- 7. Epoca del realismo -- 8-9. Generación de fin de siglo (2 v.) -- 10-11. Novecentismo y vanguardia (2 v.) -- 12-14. Posguerra (3 v.). A multi-volume, thorough history (or manual) of Spanish literature, with extensive "Bibliografía citada" at the end of each section. Detailed information on authors and literary movements. Includes index of authors names in each volume. Use the detailed "Contenido" at the back of each volume for orientation.
D Level Blue Labels:                        PQ 6032 .P4

Romanische Bibliographie.
An annual publication of work in the field of Romance languages and literature. Each year includes a large section on Spanish literature, arranged by time period, and then by author. Includes a lot of non-English sources. Includes Catalan and Galician literature. A resource not to be overlooked.
D Level (1985-2001):              Blue Labels PC 3 .Z481
Libraries Service Center (1975-1984):  PC 3 .Z481  
Libraries Service Center (1875-1974):  PF 3 .Z42

The year's work in modern language studies.
Critically assess major articles, books and new editions. Better coverage of English language than Spanish language publications. Very useful introduction to recent secondary literature.
General Reference: 2002 edition PB 1 .Y45

  1929-1974:      PD 1 .Y39
D Level

   1975-2000:               PB 1 .Y45

For a compete listing of indexes, see Guide to Research in Spanish Literature: Secondary Literature.

and the Guide to Research in Latin American Literature: Secondary Literature

See also
Using Periodicals in Research


 








































STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS

Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2008 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy