Johns Hopkins UniversityThe Sheridan Libraries



Photo of a librarian helping students with research.
Staff DirectoryPersons With DisabilitiesContact UsSite MapHours

HomeLibrary ServicesOnline ResourcesCatalogsResearch HelpCollections

Ask a Librarian
How Do I...
Forms
My Account
About Us
Info For . . .
Giving
Search
NEWS & EVENTS
LIBRARY BLOG

Spotlight

Hopkins Biomed Experts

Hopkins Biomed Experts is a tool that allows users, internal and external, to identify JHU faculty biomedical experts based on their published output indexed in PubMed. Collexis facilitates faculty research and project collaboration.  More...

 Archives 


  


Home > Research Help > Physics & Astronomy > Guide to Physics and Astronomy Resources


          Sketch of young man looking down at manuscript

Databases for Finding Journal Articles, Conference Papers, Data, and Preprints/E-prints  



Databases for articles, preprints, and other reources for physics and astronomy

ADS (Smithsonian-NASA Astrophysics Data System)             

and Other Astrophysics Sites                         

ADS -- The NASA Astrophysics Data System is a digital library for astronomy and astrophysics. It also covers other subject areas including electrical engineering, geophysics, physics, and instrumentation. 

For scanned journals, coverage goes back to Volume 1. For journals not yet scanned, coverage usually goes back to 1975. Sources of data and information include journals, books, conference proceedings, observatory reports and newsletters, some NASA reports, and PhD theses.

The ADS home page also lists additional NASA sites and related sites to get data, including those for


arXivarXiv -- Preprints in the areas of physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science, and quantitative biology.        

Applied Physics Lab Technical DigestAPL Technical Digest -- Search the full text, including back issues to 1995.

This link opens a new window - Info About IEEE Xplore IEEE Xplore  (All US JHU)

IEEE Xplore -- IEEE Xplore provides full-text access to IEEE (Institution of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988. It also includes some content back to 1950, and all current IEEE Standards.


This link opens a new window - Info About INSPEC INSPEC  (All US JHU)

Inspec -- Inspec is the main database for journal article citations and abstracts in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, and production engineering. Inspec covers about 3,400 journals, 2,000 conference proceedings, and many books, dissertations, and reports, from 1969 to the present.


ICTP Scientific PublicationsAbdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics -- This page offers online lecture notes and preprints.

This link opens a new window - Info About SPIE Digital Library SPIE Digital Library  (All US JHU)
SPIE Digital Library -- The SPIE Digital Library on optics and photonics contains over 175,000 research articles from 1990 forward. It includes technical papers from SPIE journals and conference proceedings, including
-- Proceedings of SPIE (from volume 3245, 1988)
-- Optical Engineering (from volume 37, 1998)
-- Journal of Electronic Imaging (from volume 7, 1998)
-- Journal of Biomedical Optics (from volume 3, 1998) 
-- Journal of Microlithography, Microfabrication, and Microsystems (from volume 1, 2002)

SPIRES

SPIRES (High-Energy Physics Literature Database) -- Search more than 500,000 high-energy physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses, received by the SLAC and/or DESY Libraries since 1974. 


Sue Vazakas, Physics/Astronomy Librarian,
svazakas@jhu.edu, 
410-516-4153
Last revised:  July 21, 2007



STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS

Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2008 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy