Johns Hopkins UniversityThe Sheridan Libraries



Photo of a librarian helping students with research.
Staff DirectoryPersons With DisabilitiesContact UsSite MapHours

HomeLibrary ServicesOnline ResourcesCatalogsResearch HelpCollections

Ask a Librarian
How Do I...
Forms
My Account
About Us
Info For . . .
Giving
Search
LIBRARY BLOG

Spotlight

Arts Innovation Grants Now Available

Opportunities for Faculty and Undergraduate Students to receive funding to create new or strengthen existing
co-curricular or curricular arts/culture opportunities.  More...


  


Home > Research Help > humanities > Databases and indexes in the Humanities


Cover of JugendDatabases and Indexes:
Finding Articles

ONLINE INDEXES TO ARTICLES:

The following are available to the Hopkins community: on campus, or via the Proxy access, or the VPN network.

This link opens a new window - Info About MLA International Bibliography MLA International Bibliography  (All JHU (incl. International))

(1963-present). The best overall database for literary studies.  Provides access to scholarly research in over 4,000 journals and series.

This link opens a new window - Info About Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft   (Homewood)

An essential tool to cover German language material that the MLA does not. Earlier years are covered in print format (see below). Includes secondary literature (articles, essays in books, books, dissertations and reviews), bibliographies, Forschungsberichte, primary works, editions, letters, biographies.

This link opens a new window - Info About Historical Abstracts  (old version) Historical Abstracts (old version)  (All JHU (incl. International))

Covers the scholarly literature on the history of the modern world, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Includes abstracts of articles and citations to books reviews. Also includes abstracts for dissertations. Coverage extends back to 1964.

This link opens a new window - Info About Humanities Full Text (also part of OmniFile full text mega) Humanities Full Text (also part of OmniFile full text mega)  (All US JHU)

(1904-present) Indexes over 1600 of the major journals in the humanities and its disciplines. With full text coverage from 200 publications.

This link opens a new window - Info About Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science  (All US JHU)

(1975-present) Citation index to over 1,144 arts and humanities journals. Provides information on articles and all bibliographic references cited in them.

This link opens a new window - Info About Periodicals Index Online Periodicals Index Online  (All US JHU)

Indexes millions of articles in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770.  Includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish and other Western languages.

This link opens a new window - Info About Philosopher's Index Philosopher's Index  (All US JHU)

Index to scholarly articles, books, anthologies, and contributions to anthologies in philosophy and related disciplines. The Index includes more than 550 journals from more than 40 countries. Coverage back to 1940.

This link opens a new window - Info About Project  MUSE Project MUSE  (All JHU (incl. International))

Searches the online journals of the JHU Press. Fulltext of articles now includes other presses as well; including Oxford University, Carnegie Mellon, MIT Press, Duke University.

Encompasses fine arts—painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture—as well as decorative and applied arts—crafts, graphic arts, and folk and popular art. Contains more than 665,000 records drawn from 1,400 journals, as well as books, conference proceedings, essays, exhibition catalogues, selected art dealers’ catalogues, doctoral dissertations and microform publications. Coverage back to 1973.

This link opens a new window - Info About Iter Italicum Iter Italicum  (All US JHU)

Covers all literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

This link opens a new window - Info About Essay and General Literature Index Essay and General Literature Index  (All US JHU)

Cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and other works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Focus on humanities and social sciences.

This link opens a new window - Info About International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)  (All US JHU)

A comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.


PRINT INDEXES TO ARTICLES 

While online databases are wonderful for finding more recent articles, most older material, and much of the specialized material from European journals, will be only indexed in print indexes. Be sure to check them as well, as needed.

For a complete listing of indexes in the following areas, see these online Guides to Finding Secondary Literature :

French Literature
Francophone Literature
German Literature
Italian Literature
Spanish Literature
Latin American Literature

(Note: PDF files. Requires Adobe Acrobat).

Image courtesy of Harald Fischer Verlag








































STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS

Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2008 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy