Johns Hopkins UniversityThe Sheridan Libraries



Photo of a librarian helping students with research.
Staff DirectoryPersons With DisabilitiesContact UsSite MapHours

HomeLibrary ServicesOnline ResourcesCatalogsResearch HelpCollections

Ask a Librarian
How Do I...
Forms
My Account
About Us
Info For . . .
Giving
Search
LIBRARY BLOG

Spotlight

Box Office Hits Available on DVD

Thanks to the generosity of the Friends of the Libraries, popular movies are now available for 1-week loans.  DVDs have been added to the current fiction and non-fiction books in the McNaughton Collection. More...

Archives 


  


Home > Research Help > German > Databases and indexes in German Studies


Cover of JugendDatabases and Indexes in German Studies:
Finding Articles

ONLINE INDEXES TO ARTICLES:

The following are available to the Hopkins community: on campus, or via EZ-proxy, or the VPN network.

This link opens a new window - Info About MLA International Bibliography MLA International Bibliography  (All JHU (incl. International))

(1963-present). The best overall database for literary studies. Provides access to scholarly research in over 4,000 journals and series.

This link opens a new window - Info About Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft   (Homewood)

An essential tool to cover German language material that the MLA does not. Earlier years are covered in print format (see below). Includes secondary literature (articles, essays in books, books, dissertations and reviews), bibliographies, Forschungsberichte, primary works, editions, letters, biographies.

Innsbrucker Zeitungsarchiv zur deutsch- und fremdsprachigen Literatur / IZA

Dokumentations- und Forschungsstelle für Literaturkritik, Literaturvermittlung und Rezeptionsforschung, eingerichtet am Institut für deutsche Sprache, Literatur und Literaturkritik an der Universität Innsbruck. Access to indexes and articles from newspapers and other periodicals.

This link opens a new window - Info About Humanities Full Text (also part of OmniFile full text mega) Humanities Full Text (also part of OmniFile full text mega)  (All US JHU)

(1904-present) Indexes over 1600 of the major journals in the humanities and its disciplines. With full text coverage from 200 publications.

This link opens a new window - Info About Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science  (All US JHU)

(1975-present) Citation index to over 1,144 arts and humanities journals. Provides information on articles and all bibliographic references cited in them.

This link opens a new window - Info About Periodicals Index Online Periodicals Index Online  (All US JHU)

Indexes millions of articles in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770. Includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish and other Western languages.

 Index of German Journals (IDZ) 1750-1815 (choose "IDZ Index of German Journals 1750-1815" under "Miscellaneous Databases")

(1750-1815) This database contains approximately 100.000 articles from 195 journals in German language published between 1750 and 1815.

This link opens a new window - Info About Project  MUSE Project MUSE  (All JHU (incl. International))

Searches the online journals of the JHU Press. Fulltext of articles now includes other presses as well; including Oxford University, Carnegie Mellon, MIT Press, Duke University.

Retrospektive Digitalisierung wissenschaftlicher Rezensionsorgane und Literaturzeitschriften des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts aus dem deutschen Sprachraum.

A digital project from the Universität Bielefeld with search capabilities and full text of 45 Enlightenment journals, including the Allgemeine deutsche Bibliothek and the Neue Allgemeine deutsche Bibliothek

This link opens a new window - Info About Iter Italicum Iter Italicum  (All US JHU)

Covers all literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

This link opens a new window - Info About Essay and General Literature Index Essay and General Literature Index  (All US JHU)

Cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and other works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Focus on humanities and social sciences.

This link opens a new window - Info About International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)  (All US JHU)

A comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.


PRINT INDEXES TO ARTICLES 

While online databases are wonderful for finding more recent articles, most older material, and much of the specialized material from European journals, will be only indexed in print indexes. Be sure to check them as well, as needed.

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach-und-Literaturwissenschaft. (Köttelwesch/Eppelsheimer)
Earlier volumes of the database (above) that are not yet online. Organized by large subject groupings, then A-Z or chronologically. Includes secondary literature (articles, essays in books, books, dissertations and reviews), bibliographies, Forschungsberichte, primary works, editions, letters, biographies. Volumes 1 to 8 have title: Bibliographie der deutschen Literaturwissenschaft.
General Reference:            Z 2231 .B58  1975-present
D Level :             Z 2231.B58  1945-1974

Grundriss zur Geschichte der deutschen Dichtung aus den Quellen. (Goedeke)The single most important bibliographic tool for German literature up to 1830. A multi-volume set, organized chronologically (see supplementary handout), and listing German writers of each period. Biographic information, followed by a listing of secondary literature, and that followed by detailed information on the writers’ works (primary literature).
D Level :  PM 4042 .G57 1975 (Index PT 85 .G7 Blue Labels)

Quellenlexikon zur deutschen Literaturgeschichte. (Bibliography of studies on German literary history).
A 34-volume set that lists German writers alphabetically. For each author, references to secondary literature are given. Some are quite extensive. An essential tool.
General Reference :            PT 85 .Z99 S353

Deutsches Literatur Lexikon (DLL). W. Kosch.
A 22-volume set, with a 6-volume supplement. Similar to the Quellenlexikon (above). Includes, in addition to writers, Germanisten, philosophers, theologians. Articles include short biography, primary literature, and secondary literature. There is also some information on archives and literary institutions. Very complete, up to its publication date, and includes many older citations that don't show up elsewhere.
D Level:              Z 2231 .K663 1968

Germanistik. internationales Referatenorgan mit bibliographischen Hinweisen.
A quarterly index of recently published books, articles and dissertations, organized by chronological time period. Books usually have a short review. Annual name and subject indexes.
D level:               Z 2235 .A2 G4  1990-present
Libraries Service Center:      Z 2235 .A2 G4  1975-1989
Libraries Service Center:      PK 3 .G47      1960-1974

The year's work in modern language studies.
Critically assess major articles, books and new editions. Better coverage of English language than German language publications. Very useful introduction to recent secondary literature.
Libraries Service Center  1929-1974:      PD 1 .Y39
D Level   1975-present:               PB 1 .Y45


For a compete listing of indexes, see Guide to Research in German Literature: Secondary Literature. (Note: PDF file. Requires Adobe Acrobat).

Image courtesy of Harald Fischer Verlag








































STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS

Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2008 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy