Johns Hopkins UniversityThe Sheridan Libraries



Photo of a librarian helping students with research.
Staff DirectoryPersons With DisabilitiesContact UsSite MapHours

HomeLibrary ServicesOnline ResourcesCatalogsResearch HelpCollections

Ask a Librarian
How Do I...
Forms
My Account
About Us
Info For . . .
Giving
Search
LIBRARY BLOG

Spotlight

Baltimore: A Cartographer's Delight

An exhibit featuring Baltimore city maps from the Sheridan Libraries' extensive collection of more than 215,000 maps.  Part of the Baltimore Festival of Maps, the exhibit runs through August 18 on the M-Level of Homewood's Milton S. Eisenhower Library.  More... 

Archives 


  


Home > Research Help > French > Databases in French Studies


Photo of old revuesDatabases and Indexes in French Studies:
Finding Articles

ONLINE INDEXES TO ARTICLES:

The following are available to the Hopkins community: on campus, or via Proxy access, or the VPN network.

This link opens a new window - Info About MLA International Bibliography MLA International Bibliography  (All JHU (incl. International))

(1963-present). The best overall database for literary studies. Provides access to scholarly research in over 4,000 journals and series.

This link opens a new window - Info About Humanities Full Text (also part of OmniFile full text mega) Humanities Full Text (also part of OmniFile full text mega)  (All US JHU)

(1904-present) Indexes over 1600 of the major journals in the humanities and its disciplines. With full text coverage from 200 publications.

This link opens a new window - Info About Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science  (All US JHU)

(1975-present) Citation index to over 1,144 arts and humanities journals. Provides information on articles and all bibliographic

This link opens a new window - Info About Periodicals Index Online Periodicals Index Online  (All US JHU)

Indexes millions of articles in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770. Includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish and other Western languages.

This link opens a new window - Info About IBZ: International Bibliography of periodical literature on the humanities and social sciences IBZ: International Bibliography of periodical literature on the humanities and social sciences  (Homewood)

An international and interdisciplinary bibliography of academic periodical literature mainly from the Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts.

This link opens a new window - Info About Project  MUSE Project MUSE  (All JHU (incl. International))

Searches the online journals of the JHU Press. Fulltext of articles now includes other presses as well; including Oxford University, Carnegie Mellon, MIT Press, Duke University.

This link opens a new window - Info About Iter Italicum Iter Italicum  (All US JHU)

Covers all literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

This link opens a new window - Info About Essay and General Literature Index Essay and General Literature Index  (All US JHU)

Cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and other works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Focus on humanities and social sciences.

This link opens a new window - Info About International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)  (All US JHU)

A comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.

Print Indexes to Articles

While online databases are wonderful for finding more recent articles, most older material, and much of the specialized material from European journals, will be only indexed in print indexes. Be sure to check them as well, as needed.

Bibliographie der französischen Sprach-und-Literaturewissenschaft. (the "Klapp").

The best source for French language books, articles, and theses. Each volume has a section on individual time periods, plus one on generalities and French literature outside France. A bit cumbersome; you have to search a volume for each year, but well worth the effort. Many resources not in any database.
General Reference:             Z 2171.B56 (1956-present)

Critical bibliography of French literature:  The Medieval Period, 16th, 17th, 18th, 19th, 20th centuries. (separate volumes for each time period)

An invaluable selective annotated bibliography, each section complied by a specialist. References to books, articles, and dissertations are included for each writer analyzed.
General Reference:            Z 2171 .C74

Bibliographie de la littérature française du 16e, 17e, et 18e siècles. A. Cioranescu.  (separate volumes for each time period)

Lists works written, as well as Études for most writers. For major writers, such as Ronsard, Voltaire, and Racine the Études section is vast and quite detailed. First part of the volume has a section listing works on the literary history of the period.
General Reference:            Z 2172 .C48

Manuel bibliographique de la littérature française moderne XVIe, XVIIe, XVIIIe, et XIXe siècle. G. Lanson.

An ambitious undertaking, the 16th, 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries in two large volumes. The one large volume includes all 5 parts. Very useful organization by subjects: consult the Table des matières. The citations tend to be very brief, but it does provide access to obscure works and little known authors.
D Level:           Z 2171 .L22 1921a

The year's work in modern language studies.

Critically assess major articles, books and new editions. Better coverage of English language than French language publications. Very useful introduction to recent secondary literature.
General Reference:  Current edition  PB 1 .Y45
D Level   1975-2002:               Blue Labels PB 1 .Y45
Libraries Service Center
 1929-1974:      PD 1 .Y39


For a compete listing of indexes, see Guide to Research in French Literature: Secondary Literature. (Note: PDF file requires Adobe Acrobat.)

Image courtesy of Sims Reed



STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS

Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2008 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy