Johns Hopkins UniversityThe Sheridan Libraries



Photo of a librarian helping students with research.
Staff DirectoryPersons With DisabilitiesContact UsSite MapHours

HomeLibrary ServicesOnline ResourcesCatalogsResearch HelpCollections

Ask a Librarian
How Do I...
Forms
My Account
About Us
Info For . . .
Giving
Search
LIBRARY BLOG

Spotlight

Baltimore: A Cartographer's Delight

An exhibit featuring Baltimore city maps from the Sheridan Libraries' extensive collection of more than 215,000 maps.  Part of the Baltimore Festival of Maps, the exhibit runs through August 18 on the M-Level of Homewood's Milton S. Eisenhower Library.  More... 

Archives 


  


Home > Research Help > Computer Science > Information Resources for Computer Science


Article Databases and Other Resources in Computer Science  

This page lists some of the resources that provide journal articles, e-prints, background information, technical reports, and other kinds of information. Please also look at the resources listed on the Computer Science list on the Library's page of databases By Subject.


Encyclopedias -- Use these to get background information.

AccessScience -- A general science encyclopedia that is continually updated. In addition to encyclopedia articles it includes definitions, study guides, and more. From the home page, you can choose "Computing & Information Technology," or you can type your specific keywords into the search box.

This link opens a new window - Info About AccessScience @ McGraw-Hill :  The Online Encyclopedia of Science & Technology AccessScience @ McGraw-Hill : The Online Encyclopedia of Science & Technology  (All US JHU)


Encyclopedia of Imaging Science and Technology -- Covers all aspects and fields of imaging science, including medical imaging, nondestructive testing, structural analysis, imaging applications, spectroscopy, detector technology, digital image processing, and more.
This link opens a new window - Info About Encyclopedia of Imaging science and technology Encyclopedia of Imaging science and technology  (All US JHU)

Encyclopedia of Software Engineering -- Includes information about software engineering ethics, licensing and certification, education and training in software engineering, and related fields such as mathematics, information technology, process improvement, and even biographies of important people in the field.

This link opens a new window - Info About Encyclopedia of software engineering Encyclopedia of software engineering  (All US JHU)

Databases -- Use these to find journal articles and papers from conference proceedings. 

ACM Digital Library -- Contains the full text of articles from Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journals and newsletters, and papers from conference proceedings. All ACM publications are covered from Volume 1, Number 1.

This link opens a new window - Info About ACM Digital Library ACM Digital Library   (All JHU (incl. International))

Citeseer -- CiteSeer contains documents from the open web about computer and information science. It also automatically creates a citation index that can be used for literature search and evaluation. CiteSeer has many links to full text, including ACM papers.

IEEE Xplore -- IEEE Xplore provides full-text access to IEEE (Institution of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988. It also includes some content back to 1950, and all current IEEE Standards.

This link opens a new window - Info About IEEE Xplore IEEE Xplore  (All US JHU)

Inspec -- Inspec is the main database for journal article citations and abstracts in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, and production engineering. Inspec contains citations to journal articles in about 3,400 journals, 2,000 conference proceedings, and many books, dissertations, and reports, from 1969 to the present.

This link opens a new window - Info About INSPEC INSPEC  (All US JHU)

Rexa -- Launched in April 2006, Rexa is a digital library covering computer science research and researchers. According to the Rexa blog, the main advantage over CiteSeer and other search engines is "that Rexa knows about more first-class, de-duplicated, cross-referenced object types: not only papers and their citation links, but also people, grants, topics---and in the future universities, conferences, journals, research communities, and more."

  • Browse by citations, authors, co-authors, cited authors, or citing authors
  • Cross-linking for papers, authors, topics and NSF grants
  • Automatically gathers contact info and photos of author

SPIE Digital Library -- The SPIE Digital Library on optics and photonics contains over 175,000 research articles from 1990 forward. It includes technical papers from SPIE journals and conference proceedings, including
-- Proceedings of SPIE (from volume 3245, 1988)
-- Optical Engineering (from volume 37, 1998)
-- Journal of Electronic Imaging (from volume 7, 1998)
-- Journal of Biomedical Optics (from volume 3, 1998) 
-- Journal of Microlithography, Microfabrication, and Microsystems (from volume 1, 2002)

This link opens a new window - Info About SPIE Digital Library SPIE Digital Library  (All US JHU)

Series 

Lecture Notes in Computer Science --
LNCS provides the full text of most volumes beginning from volume 149 (1983) to the present. They contain papers from the most important computer security conferences including CRYPTO, EUROCRYPT, and ASIACRYPT. 

LNCS also includes a sub-series entitled Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence, which began in the mid-1980's. Among the subjects it covers are automated reasoning, algorithms, machine vision, robotics, natural-language processing, and agent-based systems. 

Please note that papers from LNCS and its sub-series can be searched in GeoRef, Inspec, and MathSciNet, but not in Web of Science.

This link opens a new window - Info About Lecture Notes in Computer Science Lecture Notes in Computer Science  (All US JHU)

Computer Science Librarian: Sue Vazakas, 410-516-4153, svazakas@jhu.edu
Last revised:  December 29, 2005



STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS

Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2008 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy