Johns Hopkins UniversityThe Sheridan Libraries

Need Help with Off-Campus Access to E-Journals & Databases?


Photograph of student at a computer.
Staff DirectoryPersons With DisabilitiesContact UsSite MapHours

HomeLibrary ServicesOnline ResourcesCatalogsResearch HelpCollections

Ask a Librarian
How Do I...
Forms
My Account
About Us
Info For . . .
Giving
Search
LIBRARY BLOG

Spotlight

Johns Hopkins  Awards Student Book Collectors

Six prizes have been awarded in the 2008 Betty and Edgar Sweren Student Book Collecting Contest.  Begun in 1993 by the Friends and endowed this year by long-time Friends Betty and Edgar Sweren, the contest recognizes the love of books and the delight in shaping a thoughtful and focused book collection.  More…


Archives
 

  


Home > Online Resources > Databases > History and History of Science & Technology


History Databases

History Databases

Can't connect to a database or e-journal? Learn how to set up remote access from your home computer (JHU affiliates only).

Bibliographies, Indexes, and Abstracting Services
Principal:
This link opens a new window - Info About Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Africa-Wide: NiPAD (NISC information, publication and African Databases) Africa-Wide: NiPAD (NISC information, publication and African Databases)   (Homewood)
This link opens a new window - Info About African Journals Online (AJOL) African Journals Online (AJOL)  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About America: History and Life America: History and Life   (All JHU (incl. International))
This link opens a new window - Info About American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Black Studies Center Black Studies Center  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About C19: Nineteenth Century Index C19: Nineteenth Century Index  (All JHU (incl. International))
This link opens a new window - Info About Caribbean Abstracts Caribbean Abstracts  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About English Short Title Catalogue English Short Title Catalogue   (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About GenderWatch GenderWatch  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About H-Net Reviews H-Net Reviews  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About Handbook of Latin American Studies Handbook of Latin American Studies  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Historical Abstracts Historical Abstracts   (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About History of Science, Technology, and Medicine History of Science, Technology, and Medicine  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About In the First Person:  Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal Narratives In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal Narratives  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About Index Islamicus Index Islamicus  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Iter Italicum Iter Italicum  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Medici Archive Project Medici Archive Project  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies Database (MECAS) Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies Database (MECAS)  (Homewood)
This link opens a new window - Info About Nineteenth Century Masterfile.  Series I. Nineteenth Century Masterfile. Series I.  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Oral History Online Oral History Online  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Periodicals Index Online Periodicals Index Online  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Rambi Rambi  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About Readers' Guide To Periodical Literature Retrospective Readers' Guide To Periodical Literature Retrospective  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Royal Historical Society Bibliography Royal Historical Society Bibliography  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About Web of Science Web of Science  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About World Biographical Information System World Biographical Information System  (All US JHU)
Related:
This link opens a new window - Info About Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About AIDA: Bibliography of Scholarly Italian Periodical Literature AIDA: Bibliography of Scholarly Italian Periodical Literature  (Homewood)
This link opens a new window - Info About Essay and General Literature Index Essay and General Literature Index  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About GenderWatch GenderWatch  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Humanities Full Text (also part of OmniFile full text mega) Humanities Full Text (also part of OmniFile full text mega)  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About IBZ: International Bibliography of periodical literature on the humanities and social sciences IBZ: International Bibliography of periodical literature on the humanities and social sciences  (Homewood)
This link opens a new window - Info About International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Librairie des ducs de Bourgogne Librairie des ducs de Bourgogne   (Eisenhower AV)
This link opens a new window - Info About New York Review of Books New York Review of Books  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About PAIS Archive PAIS Archive  (All US JHU)
 
Catalogs
Principal:
This link opens a new window - Info About  Johns Hopkins University Libraries Catalog Johns Hopkins University Libraries Catalog  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About ArchivesUSA ArchivesUSA  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About British Libraries (COPAC) British Libraries (COPAC)  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About Enoch Pratt Free Library Catalog Enoch Pratt Free Library Catalog  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About Library of Congress Catalog Library of Congress Catalog  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About National Library Catalogues Worldwide National Library Catalogues Worldwide  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About Oral History Online Oral History Online  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About RLG union catalog (RLIN) RLG union catalog (RLIN)  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About School of Oriental & African Studies Library Catalogue: Africa School of Oriental & African Studies Library Catalogue: Africa  (Homewood)
This link opens a new window - Info About Union lists of periodicals -- now integrated into WORLDCAT Union lists of periodicals -- now integrated into WORLDCAT  (All JHU (incl. International))
This link opens a new window - Info About University of Maryland Catalog University of Maryland Catalog  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About WorldCat WorldCat  (All JHU (incl. International))
Related:
This link opens a new window - Info About rarebooks.info rarebooks.info   (All US JHU)
 
Datasets and Statistical Resources
This link opens a new window - Info About Gallup Brain Gallup Brain  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Historical Statistics of the United States Historical Statistics of the United States  (All US JHU)
 
Directories
This link opens a new window - Info About African American Biographical Database: AABD. African American Biographical Database: AABD.  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About African Studies Companion African Studies Companion  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About International Directory of Scholars International Directory of Scholars  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory   (All JHU (incl. International))
 
E-Journal Collections
Principal:
This link opens a new window - Info About American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900 American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers 1900-1910 Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers 1900-1910  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About Directory of Open Access Journals Directory of Open Access Journals  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About Eighteenth Century Journals Eighteenth Century Journals  (All JHU (incl. International))
This link opens a new window - Info About Gerritsen Collection of Women's History Online, 1543-1945 Gerritsen Collection of Women's History Online, 1543-1945  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About JSTOR JSTOR  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Keesings World News Archive Keesings World News Archive  (Sheridan & SAIS)
This link opens a new window - Info About Nation Digital Archive:  Since 1865 Nation Digital Archive: Since 1865  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About New Republic Digital New Republic Digital  (All US JHU)
Related:
This link opens a new window - Info About Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers 1900-1910 Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers 1900-1910  (Free)
 
E-Texts
Principal:
This link opens a new window - Info About 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers  (All JHU (incl. International))
This link opens a new window - Info About 19th Century British Newspapers 19th Century British Newspapers  ()
This link opens a new window - Info About 19th Century British Periodicals Digital Archive 19th Century British Periodicals Digital Archive  (All JHU (incl. International))
This link opens a new window - Info About ACLS Humanities E-Books (HEB) ACLS Humanities E-Books (HEB)  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Acta Sanctorum: The Full Text Database Acta Sanctorum: The Full Text Database  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About African American Newspapers: The 19th Century African American Newspapers: The 19th Century  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1876 America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1876  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About American Civil War Letters and Diaries American Civil War Letters and Diaries  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900 American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Arab Israeli Relations 1917-1970 Arab Israeli Relations 1917-1970  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About ARTFL ARTFL   (All JHU (incl. International))
This link opens a new window - Info About Bibliothèque des lettres Bibliothèque des lettres  (All JHU (incl. International))
This link opens a new window - Info About Black Studies Center Black Studies Center  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Black Thought and Culture: African Americans to 1975 Black Thought and Culture: African Americans to 1975  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries from 1500-1900 British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries from 1500-1900  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About CETEDOC library of Christian Latin texts CETEDOC library of Christian Latin texts  (Eisenhower AV)
This link opens a new window - Info About Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About CLCLT Library of Latin Texts CLCLT Library of Latin Texts  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Declassified Documents Reference System Declassified Documents Reference System  (All JHU (incl. International))
This link opens a new window - Info About Digital National Security Archive Digital National Security Archive  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker im WWW Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker im WWW  (All JHU (incl. International))
This link opens a new window - Info About Early encounters in North America  peoples, cultures, and the environment. Early encounters in North America peoples, cultures, and the environment.  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Early English Books Online Early English Books Online  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Eighteenth Century Collections Online Eighteenth Century Collections Online  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Evans Digital Edition (1639-1800) Evans Digital Edition (1639-1800)  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Gerritsen Collection of Women's History Online, 1543-1945 Gerritsen Collection of Women's History Online, 1543-1945  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Gutenberg-e Gutenberg-e  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912 Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About HeinOnline HeinOnline   (All JHU (incl. International))
This link opens a new window - Info About Historic Documents Series Historic Documents Series  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP)  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About In the First Person:  Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal Narratives In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal Narratives  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About LexisNexis Primary Sources in U.S. History LexisNexis Primary Sources in U.S. History  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Maryland County Histories Maryland County Histories  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Monumenta Germaniae Historia Monumenta Germaniae Historia  (Eisenhower AV)
This link opens a new window - Info About North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Oxford African American Studies Center Oxford African American Studies Center  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Past Masters: Full Text of Classic Works in the Humanities Past Masters: Full Text of Classic Works in the Humanities  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Patrologia Latina  the full text database. Patrologia Latina the full text database.  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800 Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About ProQuest Newspapers (Historical) ProQuest Newspapers (Historical)  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Responsa project Responsa project  (Eisenhower AV)
This link opens a new window - Info About Soncino Classics Collection Soncino Classics Collection  (Eisenhower AV)
This link opens a new window - Info About The September 11 Digital Archive The September 11 Digital Archive  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-1985 Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-1985  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Voltaire Electronique Voltaire Electronique  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Women Writers Online Women Writers Online  (All US JHU)
Related:
This link opens a new window - Info About HeinOnline HeinOnline   (All JHU (incl. International))
This link opens a new window - Info About History Matters: The U.S. Survey Course on the Web History Matters: The U.S. Survey Course on the Web  (Free)
This link opens a new window - Info About Librairie des ducs de Bourgogne Librairie des ducs de Bourgogne   (Eisenhower AV)
 
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Almanacs
This link opens a new window - Info About Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About African American Biographical Database: AABD. African American Biographical Database: AABD.  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About African American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience African American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About African-American Almanac African-American Almanac  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About American National Biography American National Biography  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About ARTFL ARTFL   (All JHU (incl. International))
This link opens a new window - Info About Biography resource center + the complete Marquis Who Biography resource center + the complete Marquis Who  (All US JHU)